A new start

8 11 2010

Welcome!

I’m Rhisling, a Portuguese playing poker in Holland.

I started playing a couple of years ago, always for fun with friends. I tried to play online using PokerStrategy’s $50 starting capital, with moderate success. I managed to raise my bankroll playing NL2 and NL5 up to $90, but then the poker gods got angry and I dropped to $30, always using proper bankroll management. In this moment I tilted, opened an NL25 table, waited for a good hand, all in! As I didn’t make peace with the poker gods, a bad beat ended my career 🙂

I left the poker tables for a while, until I received an email from PokerStrategy saying I was entitled to an extra $50 at Party Poker. Ok, let’s try it again, I thought. This time I started playing MTT’s. I did a second place in a turbo 1.5k guaranteed, with over 500 players, earning me $134.

I was fed up of PartyPoker by this time, there wasn’t enough traffic neither an interesting quantity of MTT’s to play. I withdrew my money and opened an account at PokerStars…

In this moment I have around 3000 hands at Poker Stars, between NL2 and NL5. I started playing NL2 to get used to multitable in a new software, then moved to NL5.

Situation: breakeven. Up and down all the way, but I feel I’m playing better than I ever did. Stealing a lot of blinds, putting pressure, making good reads and even folding some big hands… The problem are the buy ins lost with flushes or, like the last one, a full house beaten by a 4 of a kind. Hard climbing up slowly to have a fast drop by this kind of play.

I’m going to use this blog to share my path, ask some advice, whatever comes along. Wish me luck!

Cheers,

Rhisling

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

